Judith Tintinalli, MD

Dr. Tintinalli is a professor and founding chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She also is an adjunct professor in the Department of Health Policy and Management in the School of Public Health, and in Medical Journalism in the School of Journalism and Mass Communications at the University of North Carolina. She received her medical degree from the Wayne State University School of Medicine. She completed residency training and received her Master’s in Clinical Research Design an Statistical Analysis from the University of Michigan.


Dr. Tintinalli was president of the American Board of Emergency Medicine (1989-1990), was the founding president of the Council of Emergency Medicine Residency Directors and was chair of the Liaison Residency Committee (forerunner of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education-sponsored Residency Review Committee). She is editor in chief of the world’s largest selling emergency medicine textbook, “Tintinalli’s Emergency Medicine,” now developing the ninth McGraw Hill edition. The seventh edition received the Best Surgical Book of 2011 title from the British Medical Association.

She was a board member and deputy editor of the Annals of Emergency Medicine until 2005. She was elected to the National Academy of Sciences, Institute of Medicine in 1997, and was a member of the North Carolina Institute of Medicine, Task Force on the Uninsured (2005). A past-president of the Association of Academic Chairs of Emergency Medicine (2006-2007), Dr. Tintinalli is editor in chief of AccessEmergencyMedicine, the McGraw Hill digital library for emergency medicine, released January 2007. She was appointed editor in chief of Emergency Physicians Monthly in July 2013. In 2013 she received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the University of North Carolina Academy Of Educators. In 2016 she was named an Honorary Fellow of the American College of Osteopathic Emergency Medicine, and Clinical Professor of the Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine. In 2017 she was named a member of the Scientific Advisory Board of MDCalc.org.  She was elected to the Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society in April, 2017, by the University of North Carolina School of Medicine. In October 2018 the American College of Emergency Physicians named one of the society’s key leadership awards the Judith E. Tintinalli Award for Outstanding Contribution in Education.  In April 2019 she received the Janice A. Wachtler Educator of the Year Award, given by the American College of Osteopathic Emergency Physicians.

My Sessions

My Sessions

Dealer’s Choice

General Session